UNREAL POSSIBILITY- IF CLAUSE 2ND CONDITIONAL

The second conditional is used to talk about ‘unreal’ or impossible things. The type 2 conditional refers to an unlikely or hypothetical condition and its probable result. These sentences are not based on the actual situation. In type 2 conditional sentences, the time is now or any time and the situation is hypothetical.

Examples

  • If the weather wasn’t so bad, we would go to the park. (But the weather is bad so we can’t go.)
  • If I was the Queen of England, I would give everyone a chicken. (But I am not the Queen.)
  • If you really loved me, you would buy me a diamond ring.
  • If I knew where she lived, I would go and see her.

It is correct and very common, to say “if I were” instead of “if I was” (subjunctive mood).

Examples

  • If I were taller, I would buy this dress.
  • If I were 20, I would travel the world.
  • If I were you, I would give up smoking.
  • If I were a plant, I would love the rain.

 

Fill in the blanks

If I……………(play) the lottery, I ……………(have)a chance to hit the jackpot.

If I ……………(hit) the jackpot, I ……………(be) rich.

If I ……………(be)rich, my life ……………(change) completely.

I ……………(buy) a lonely island if I……………(find) a nice one.

If I ……………(own) a lonely island, I……………(build) a huge house by the beach.

I ……………(invite) all my friends if I……………(have) a house by the beach.

I …………… (pick up) my friends up in my yacht if they ……………(want) to spend their holidays on my island.

We ……………(have) great parties if ……………(have)my friends to my island.

If we……………(like) to go shopping in a big city, we……………(rent) a helicopter.

But if my friends’ holidays ……………(be)over, I ……………(feel) very lonely on my lonely island.

 

 

 

Write the unreal possibility sentences “If Clause Type 2” counterparts of the statements given below

E.g.She is craving for something sweet in the middle of the night but there is no chocolate  left in the fridge to make her happy

If there were a little piece of chocolate in the fridge, she would be happy

 

As a couple, we have enough money to live without any extra pennies, but my wife really wants to live in a huge castle by the seaside. That’s the reason why I am playing the lottery every Sunday.

 

John is the 3rd children of a farmer family and he always dreams him was the owner of the farm instead of his oldest brother who will own this place soon.

 

Mrs. Colley is a successful lawyer. However, she imagines herself as an actress who wins the academy award.

 

Mary wishes to reach her high school friends to invite them to her wedding ceremony but she doesn’t know their contact info.

 

Evan doesn’t like animals but he sometimes thinks himself playing with a beautiful Golden Retriever

 

Elizabeth imagines herself as a mechanic but in her area, they only hire male mechanics.

 

It is hard to be a friend of Richie because he has everything he needs it is hard to buy him a present.

 

Today I am wearing my red coat but I feel that I should choose my blue one to be more attractive.

 

Test your knowledge on Conditional Sentences.

Complete the Conditional Sentences Type I.

  • If you……………. (wash) the dishes, I……………. (cook)  dinner tonight.
  • If my dad ……………. (have) time next week, we……………. (paint)  my room.
  • You ……………. (learn) a lot about American history if you ……………. (visit)  the exhibition.
  • If the weather……………. (be / not) too bad tomorrow, we ……………. (play)  golf.
  • We ……………. (get / not) there on time if we ……………. (catch / not)  the bus.

 

Complete the Conditional Sentences Type II.

If I……………. (have)  more time, I (learn) ……………  to play the guitar.

If she ……………. (study)  harder, she ……………. (get)  better marks.

If we……………. (know)  more about history, we……………. (be / not)  afraid of the test.

I ……………. (go)  jogging with Tom and Sue if they ……………. (be)  here this week.

It ……………. (surprise)  me if she ……………. (help / not)  you.

 

Conditional Sentence Type I or II

If you need the car in the afternoon, I …………shopping in the morning.

If I …………a hat, I would look like an old woman.

I’ll buy this bag if they………… it in blue.

She wouldn’t pay cash if she …………a credit card.

Reading

You are going to read a text about an 85-year-old woman talking about her life.

  1. Circle the words you might find in the text.

relax      trips     dare    regret    pastime

earlier    car       trouble     thermometer

safety     climb     book      dance     cry

1.Make up one sentence for at least 4 words from the box.

 

2 .Read the text and try to find definitions for the following words.

dare_______________________

limber up _______________________

perhaps _______________________

sanely  _________________________

barefoot _________________________

IF I COULD LIVE MY LIFE ALL OVER…

If I had to live my life all over again, I’d dare make more mistakes next time. I would relax. I would limber up. I would be sillier than I have been this trip. I would take fewer things seriously. I would take more chances.

 I would take more trips. I would climb more mountains, swim more rivers. I would eat more ice cream and fewer beans. I would perhaps have more actual troubles, but I would have fewer imaginary ones.

 You see – I’m one of those people who live seriously and sanely hour after hour, day after day. Oh, I have my moments. And if I had to do it over again, I’d have more of them. In fact, I’d try to have nothing else, just moments one after another, instead of living so many years ahead of each day.

I’ve been one of those persons who never goes anywhere without a thermometer, a hot water bottle, a raincoat and a parachute. If I had to do it over again, I would travel lighter than I have. If I had to live my life over, I would start barefoot earlier in the spring and stay that way later in autumn.

 I would go to more dances. I would ride more merry-go-rounds. I would pick more daisies.

Attributed to Nadine Stair, 85 years old

 

3. Discuss

  1. Why do you think the author would dare make more mistakes next time? Find pieces of evidence in the text.
  2. How does the author describe herself?
  3. Do you think you would regret so many things if you were her age? Why /not?

 

4 .I would do it differently if…

What I would do if I were the president of the country

What I would do if I could go back in any part of the history

What I would ask for if I had three wishes

What I would do if I could become invisible

What powers I would have if I were a super hero

Yadyok Assistant

Berrak P. ULUER

